Todd County Overview

Todd County is “Where the Forest Meets the Prairie.”

Located in central Minnesota, Todd County is “Where the Forest Meets the Prairie.”  Todd County is made up of over 944 square miles of lush farmland, lakes and rivers.

Established in 1856, the County was named after John Baines Smith Todd who was in command of the Fort at that time.

In 1871, a full block of land was given by John P Tweed for the construction of permanent county buildings. The Original Courthouse was built in 1883 and in 2012 was remodeled and functions as office space for County departments.

There are 11 cities and 28 townships, with Long Prairie being the county seat.  There are over 24,000 residents who make their home in Todd County.

There are many parks and trails to enjoy including the Lake Wogeon trail.  Todd County has 7.6 miles of the trail that runs from Osakis to West Union and then to the Stearns County Line.

There are over 200 lakes that make up about one fifth of the total surface area of Todd County.

There are five elected commissioners who represent the various districts and are the governing body for the county.

Comprehensive Plan

The Updated Comprehensive Plan , adopted by Resolution of the Todd County Board of Commissioners on December 1, 2009, is available by following the link below:

Online Versions

Todd County 2030 Comprehensive Plan

Printed Document

Printed documents are available from the Todd County Environmental Land and Resources Office. Please direct your request to:

Todd County Planning and Zoning
215 1st Ave S, STE 103
Long Prairie, MN 56347
(320) 732-4420

Hours of Operation:

Monday – Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm

Our offices are closed all day for New Years, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Presidents Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day, Friday following Thanksgiving, Christmas. Todd County’s Offices are open for 1/2 day on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve.